Gay Soap Opera // A musical marathon

I thought I was gonna talk in this post about some songs sound gay – gay as in they reflect the lives and the struggles of the LGBT/Queer community – and how and why and so on. But it’s 2:00 in the morning and I’ve been going to bed late for some nights now, so I’m just going to throw down this playlist of some 50 songs that sound perfectly gay (at least to me). They’ll be in chapters and you have to listen to them in this order. Once you’re done you’ll have had a stereotpyical gay soap opera (stereotypical to the US) run through your head/mind. And it should be clear then that these songs are so very gay. Here are the songs so connect the dots and let your imagination run wild:

Singers of the 50 gay songs

Well, I’ve picked these people’s songs! They seem most fitting, no wonder they’re gay icons/idols. CHALLENGE: Can you name them all?

Chapter (1) :: Once upon a time in a small town in the US, there is a boy. He’s always known he was different and people don’t seem to approve. He eventually realizes he’s gay, although he dates girls, and he has to hide himself. He has a crush on this gorgeous boy from his school. He comes out first to his close girl friend(s) and then to his secret lover. And they make love – for the first time. Que music!

  1. Hair ~ Lady Gaga
  2. So emotional ~ Whitney Houston
  3. Reflection ~ Christina Aguilera
  4. How will I know? ~ Whitney Houston
  5. Lucky ~ Kylie Minogue
  6. That’s the way it is ~ Celine Dion
  7. Can’t get you out of my head ~ Kylie Minogue
  8. I believe in you ~ Kylie Minogue
  9. When you kiss me ~ Shania Twain

Chapter (2) :: He stops dating girls and has to get together with his boyfriend in secrecy. They eventually decide to reveal their love to the public. There’s this big hullabaloo with people, friends and family, not being accepting or supportive of them. Things calm down in time. And they break up some time into college. Que music!

  1. Fight for this love ~ Cheryl Cole
  2. We found love ~ Rihanna, feat. Calvin Harris
  3. Who you are ~ Jessie J
  4. I’m coming out ~ Diana Ross
  5. Beautiful ~ Christina Aguilera
  6. Like it or not ~ Madonna
  7. I will always love you ~ Dolly Parton [or] Whitney Houston

Chapter (3) :: He turns 21 and goes to gay bars and stuff. And there’s the intense partying and a high level of sexual energy. Que music!

  1. It’s raining men ~ Weather Girls
  2. I wanna dance with somebody (who loves me) ~ Whitney Houston
  3. Give me all your luvin’ ~ Madonna, feat. M.I.A. & Nicki Minaj
  4. Wow ~ Kylie Minogue
  5. Domino ~ Jessie J
  6. Whataya want from me? ~ Adam Lambert
  7. Bad romance ~ Lady Gaga
  8. Slow ~ Kylie Minogue
  9. Laserlight ~ Jessie J, feat. David Guetta
  10. Naked love ~ Adam Lambert
  11. The one ~ Kylie Minogue

Chapter (4) :: He stays single all through college and one day he gets reunited with his old lover from high school. But they’re not the same people anymore, their lives have been changed. And they resume the relationship, which turns out to be a disaster. They continually keep breaking up and getting back together. Que music!

  1. Somebody to love ~ Queen
  2. Open arms ~ Journey
  3. People ~ Barbra Streisand
  4. Without you ~ David Guetta, feat. Usher
  5. Promise this ~ Cheryl Cole
  6. One by one ~ Cher
  7. Please don’t leave me ~ P!nk
  8. I have nothing ~ Whitney Houston
  9. The man that got away ~ Judy Garland
  10. Nobody’s perfect ~ Jessie J
  11. Better the devil you know ~ Kylie Minogue
  12. Never too late ~ Kylie Minogue
  13. Express yourself ~ Madonna
  14. Don’t rain on my parade ~ Barbra Streisand

Chapter (5) :: Finally, one of them decides this mess can’t go on anymore and leaves his partner. Que music!

  1. Sorry ~ Madonna
  2. Believe ~ Cher
  3. Taking back my love ~ Enrique Iglesias & Ciara
  4. Strong enough ~ Cher
  5. Cry me a river ~ Ella Fitzgerald
  6. I will survive ~ Gloria Gaynor
  7. Fighter ~ Christina Aguilera
  8. Over the rainbow ~ Judy Garland
  9. All the lovers ~ Kylie Minogue

THE END.

I’m actually pleased with this playlist that I’ve come up with. You’d have noticed that I left out some super gay songs. That’s because I find them unfitting to the story. Anyways, try to listen to all the songs in this order and imagine stage your own little musical performance in your mind. It’s gonna be a painfully long and almost realistic one though. I would attach YouTube links to each track but that would be too much of a pain in the ass, so … Heehee, ENJOY!

P.S. This is done with the extent of my knowledge of popular music, so don’t judge! But suggestions are welcome. 😉

3 thoughts on “Gay Soap Opera // A musical marathon

Leave a Reply

